Something About Hensley's, Patricia Polacco
  • $3.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Something About Hensley's

Author: Patricia Polacco

Narrator: Judy Schachner

Unabridged: 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 03/13/2018

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues

Synopsis

There's something about Hensley's! No matter what you need, that general store is sure to have it. It's almost magical the way the manager, Old John, seems to know what the townsfolk need before they do! But then a new family moves to town. The youngest child, Molly, has asthma—but her mother doesn't have money to treat her, or for anything else. But leave it to Old John to find a way to use Hensley's to give the family exactly what it needs, even if it can't be boxed or bagged.

A true—and truly moving—story about an unforgettable general store and about the extraordinary power one person's acts of kindness can have on another.

Recommended

The Sign of the Beaver
by Elizabeth George Speare

At just 12 years old, Matt must face serious challenges in the Maine wilderness while awaiting his father's return to their cabin.When he is saved from a terrifying bee swarm attack by an Indian chief and his grandson Attean, Matt gains a valuable f...

Narrator: Greg Schaffert
Published: 05/11/2004

Dork Diaries 4
by Rachel Renee Russell

In the fourth book of the New York Times bestselling series that’s as popular as it is dorky, Nikki Maxwell is determined to help out her crush!Nikki Maxwell isn’t at all surprised to find out that her crush Brandon volunteers at a local...

Narrator: Jenni Barber
Published: 06/05/2012

The Seventh Most Important Thing
by Shelley Pearsall

This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker...

Narrator: Nick Podehl
Published: 09/08/2015

Dork Diaries 6
by Rachel Renee Russell

Love—and crushes—are in the air for Nikki Maxwell in this sixth book of the New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series.It’s the biggest dance of the year and Nikki Maxwell is hoping her crush, Brandon, wants to be her date. But...

Narrator: Jenni Barber
Published: 06/04/2013

The Eleventh Plague
by Jeff Hirsch

In the aftermath of a war, America's landscape has been ravaged and two thirds of the population left dead from influenza. Fifteen-year-old Stephen Quinn and his family were among the few that survived. But when Stephen's grandfather dies and his fa...

Narrator: Dan Bittner
Published: 09/01/2011

Dork Diaries 5
by Rachel Renee Russell

Nikki Maxwell authors an advice column for the school newspaper in this fifth book of the New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series.Nikki Maxwell develops a sudden interest in student journalism that may or may not (okay, definitely does) have ...

Narrator: Jenni Barber
Published: 10/02/2012

Way of the Warrior Kid
by Jocko Willink

This program is read by Thor Willink with the author, Jocko Willink. Fifth grade was the worst year of Marc’s life. He stunk at gym class, math was too hard for him, the school lunch was horrible, and his class field trip was ruined because he...

Narrator: Thor Willink
Published: 05/02/2017

Dork Diaries 3
by Rachel Renee Russell

Discussion Questions for: Dork Diaries By Rachel Renée Russell Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life 1. Nikki is starting at a new private school. How does she learn about the culture of the school and figure out who is trustwor...

Narrator: Lana Quintal
Published: 06/07/2011

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
by Judy Blume

Margaret Simon, almost twelve, has just moved from New York City to the suburbs, and she’s anxious to fit in with her new friends. When she’s asked to join a secret club she jumps at the chance. But when the girls start talking about boy...

Narrator: Laura Hamilton
Published: 12/29/2009
{"id":"2110663","ean":"9780525597353","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Something About Hensley's","subtitle":"","author":"Patricia Polacco","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Judy Schachner","ubr_id":"2110663","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"5.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"3.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Judy Schachner","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}