Star Trek, The Next Generation: The Valiant, Michael Jan Friedman
  • $6.46
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Star Trek, The Next Generation: The Valiant

Author: Michael Jan Friedman

Series: Star Trek Next Generation #1

Narrator: Anthony Stewart Head

Abridged: 3 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 04/01/2000

Genre: Fiction - Science Fiction - Adventure

Synopsis

Three hundred years ago, the S.S. Valiant was destroyed during an ill-fated attempted to cross the legendary Galactic Barrier. Starfleet had always assumed that the Valiant had perished with all hands aboard, until a pair of unusual humanoids arrive at Starbase 209, claiming to be the descendants of a handful of Valiant survivors who found refuge on an M-Class planet beyond the Barrier. Even more shocking, the visitors warn that a hostile alien species, the Nuyyad, are preparing to invade our galaxy. Starfleet orders the U.S.S. Stargazer to investigate at once. Lieutenant Commander Jean-Luc Picard is second office on the Stargazer and yet to command a vessel of his own. He soon develops a special bond with one of the visitors, a strikingly beautiful woman who has inherited mysterious psychic abilities from her alleged Starfleet ancestors. But can Picard truly trust her? His doubts deepen when the Stargazer is ambushed by Nuyyad warships. Picard finds himself in command - trapped on the wrong side of the Barrier, cut off from Starfleet. Not only the Stargazer, but perhaps the entire Federation, may depend on the decisions he must make. The Valiant is a gripping saga that explores an untold chapter in the life of Jean-Luc Picard - and reveals the making of a captain!

Recommended

Two Plays for Voices
by Neil Gaiman

"The joy for me is knowing that somebody can have this strange audio experience. They're getting something as good as you get from radio." - Neil GaimenProduced by the Sci-Fi Channel and Seeing Ear Theatre - these two plays are adapted for voice by ...

Narrator: Bebe Neuwirth
Published: 01/13/2004

Binti
by Nnedi Okorafor

Winner of the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award for Best Novella!Her name is Binti, and she is the first of the Himba people ever to be offered a place at Oomza University, the finest institution of higher learning in the galaxy. But to accept the off...

Narrator: Robin Miles
Published: 09/22/2015

Exit Strategy
by Martha Wells

"I love Murderbot!" -Ann Leckie. The fourth and final part of the Murderbot Diaries series that began with All Systems Red. Murderbot wasn't programmed to care. So, its decision to help the only human who ever showed it respect must be a system glit...

Narrator: Kevin R. Free
Published: 10/02/2018

Star Trek: Sarek
by A.C. Crispin

Spock's mother, Amanda Grayson, is dying, and Spock returns to the planet Vulcan where he and Sarek enjoy a rare moment of rapprochement. But just as his wife's illness grows worse, duty calls Sarek away, once again sowing the seeds of conflict betw...

Narrator: Nick Sullivan
Published: 02/21/2012

All Systems Red
by Martha Wells

All Systems Red is the first tense science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld and Ex Machina. All Systems Red by Martha Wells begins The Murderbot Diaries, a new science fiction action and ...

Narrator: Kevin R. Free
Published: 10/20/2017

The First City
by Joe Hart

In the thrilling conclusion to Joe Hart’s Dominion Trilogy, Zoey discovers who she truly is—and who she must become.Zoey has only ever known a world with few women and a society capable of unimaginable evil. Now she’s about to lear...

Narrator: Dara Rosenberg
Published: 03/28/2017

N.U.R.B. National Unnatural Resources Bureau Book One
by Nathan Tarantla

Bigfoot. El Chupacabra. Greys.The National Unnatural Resources Bureau is dedicated to studying supernatural and paranormal phenomenon, and unusual creatures that live within the borders of the United States. Includes Theodore Roosevelt's encounter w...

Narrator: Nathan Tarantla
Published: 03/10/2020

Ocean of Storms
by Christopher Mari

In the near future, political tensions between the United States and China are at an all-time high. Then a catastrophic explosion on the moon cleaves a vast gash in the lunar surface, and the massive electromagnetic pulse it unleashes obliterates Ea...

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 12/01/2016

Black Genesis
by L. Ron Hubbard

Intrigue, betrayal, blackmail... From the violent, heroin-riddled back streets of Turkey to the heart of government corruption in America, Mission Earth relentlessly hurls into a new labyrinth of intrigue, betrayal, suspense and murder. Volume 2 of ...

Narrator: Multi-cast
Published: 12/22/2004
{"id":"128479","ean":"9780743519595","abr":"Abridged","title":"Star Trek, The Next Generation: The Valiant","subtitle":"","author":"Michael Jan Friedman","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Anthony Stewart Head","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"128479","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"10.95","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"6.57","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Anthony Stewart Head","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 3 hr"}