Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me), Gary Janetti
  • $6.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)

Author: Gary Janetti

Narrator: Gary Janetti

Unabridged: 8 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 10/22/2019

Genre: Humor - Form - Essays

Synopsis

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart.” — Kevin Kwan, New York Times bestselling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy

This program is read by the author.

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey… meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills into a hilarious, and poignant audiobook chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his twenties in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, “These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me.”

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind if I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

"The writing of Gary Janetti, whether televised or tweeted, is famously incisive and sharp-tongued. What a revelation it was, therefore, to discover in these revealing personal essays an artist of great tenderness and vulnerability. And he's still funny as hell." — Armistead Maupin

“It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped.” - Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the Six

Recommended

Just a Guy Notes from a Blue Collar Life
Just a Guy
by Bill Engvall

Bill Engvall has been making people laugh professionally for more than 20 years, and along with Jeff Foxworthy, Larry the Cable Guy, and Ron White, is a founding member of the superstar Blue Collar Comedy Tour. In this audiobook, Engvall explains wh...

Narrator: Bill Engvall
Published: 05/29/2007

Zombie Spaceship Wasteland A Book by Patton Oswalt
Zombie Spaceship Wasteland
by Patton Oswalt

A hilarious memoir from one of the most creative, insightful, and hysterical voices on the entertainment scene today. Best known for his roles in the films Big Fan and Ratatouille, as well as the television hit The King of Queens, Patton has been am...

Narrator: Patton Oswalt
Published: 01/04/2011

Babyhood
Babyhood
by Paul Reiser

I'm going to be totally honest.  This is not the kind of audiobook that can help you.  It's not a "how-to," a "when-to," or a "what-to-expect."  It's not even endorsed by anyone remotely co...

Narrator: Paul Reiser
Published: 07/05/2000

Talk to the Hand The Utter Bloody Rudeness of the World Today, or Six Good Reasons to Stay Home
Talk to the Hand
by Lynne Truss

"Talk to the hand, ’cause the face ain’t listening," the saying goes.When did the world stop wanting to hear? When did society become so thoughtless? It’s a topic that has been simmering for years, and Lynne Truss says it’s n...

Narrator: Lynne Truss
Published: 11/03/2005

Dave Barry's Money Secrets Like: Why Is There a Giant Eyeball on the Dollar?
Dave Barry's Money Secrets
by Dave Barry

Did you ever wish that you really understood money? Well, Dave Barry wishes that he did, too. But that hasn’t stopped him from writing a book about how to understand money. In it, Dave explores (as only he can) such topics as· How the U.S...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 01/17/2006

Silent Night and Frank Won't be Calling this Year
Silent Night and Frank Won't be Calling this Year
by Alphie McCourt

Alphie McCourt, the youngest of the McCourt brothers, reminisces on Christmas past-from his childhood in Limerick to the celebrations of family and friends in New York as an adult with Frank and Malachy.

Narrator: Alphie McCourt
Published: 11/13/2012

You Can't Drink All Day If You Don't Start in the Morning
You Can't Drink All Day If You Don't Start in the Morning
by Celia Rivenbark

From the author of the bestselling classics We're Just Like You, Only Prettier, and Bless Your Heart, Tramp, comes a collection of essays so funny, you'll shoot co'cola out of your nose. Topics include such gems as: • Why Miss North Carolina is...

Narrator: Celia Rivenbark
Published: 09/01/2009

Saint Patrick, The Banner, The Hat, and the FBI
Saint Patrick, The Banner, The Hat, and the FBI
by Alphie McCourt

Just in time for Saint Patrick's Day! Alphie McCourt, author of the convivial memoir A Long Stone's Throw and youngest brother of Frank McCourt (Angela's Ashes), releases his reminiscences of the beloved holiday. This story, written and read by the...

Narrator: Alphie McCourt
Published: 03/13/2012

Don't Get Too Comfortable The Indignities of Coach Class, The Torments of Low Thread Count, The Never- Ending Quest for Artisanal Olive Oil, and Other First World Problems
Don't Get Too Comfortable
by David Rakoff

The Indignities of Coach Class, the Torments of Low Thread Count, the Never-Ending Quest for Artisanal Olive Oil, and Other First World ProblemsDavid Rakoff’s collection of autobiographical essays, Fraud, established him as one of our funniest...

Narrator: David Rakoff
Published: 09/20/2005
{"id":"3426048","ean":"9781250242976","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)","subtitle":"(Things That Still Annoy Me)","author":"Gary Janetti","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Gary Janetti","ubr_id":"3426048","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"10.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"6.59","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Gary Janetti","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}