The Bridge of San Luis Rey, Thornton Wilder
  • $4.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Bridge of San Luis Rey

Author: Thornton Wilder

Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini

Unabridged: 2 hr 59 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Dreamscape Media

Published: 01/03/2023

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

Set in Peru in the summer of 1714, this novel tells the tale of a group of interrelated people who perish following the collapse of an Inca rope bridge. A Franciscan friar, Brother Juniper, witnesses the accident and sets out to find out more about each victim, seeking answers—cosmic or otherwise—as to why they had to die. In his quest, Brother Juniper spends six years trying to interview as many people that knew the victims as he can, seeking to prove that both their beginning and their end was part of God's plan for each victim. In doing so, he hopes to document empirical evidence of God's Divine Providence. Winner of the 1928 Pulitzer Prize and the bestselling work of fiction that same year, this novel is exploration of the meaning of a person's life beyond their personal choices.

Recommended

One of Ours
One of Ours
by Willa Cather

A Nebraska native, Claude Wheeler wants to attend the State University but instead lives a typical college life as a Temple College student. However, when his successful father decides to expand the family farm, Claude's reality is changed forever a...

Narrator: Joel Richards
Published: 08/02/2022

To Build a Fire Classic Tales Edition
To Build a Fire
by Jack London

A man with no name follows a wandering path into the frozen Klondike. And here, deep in the heart of God’s country, he is forced to pit his will, mind and spirit against the forces of Mother Nature, herself.

Narrator: B.J. Harrison
Published: 06/12/2010

Brokeback Mountain
Brokeback Mountain
by Annie Proulx

WINNER OF THE VENICE FILM FESTIVAL GOLDEN LION AWARD Annie Proulx has written some of the most original and brilliant short stories in contemporary literature, and for many, Brokeback Mountain is her masterpiece. Ennis del Mar and Jack Twist, ...

Narrator: Campbell Scott
Published: 12/02/2005

The Enchanted April
The Enchanted April
by Elizabeth Von Arnim

When four women leave their drab lives behind to go on holiday in Italy, their lives are changed forever by the Mediterranean. Mrs. Arbuthnot and Mrs. Wilkins, while part of the same ladies' club, have never spoken. Lady Caroline Dester and the elde...

Narrator: Robin Siegerman
Published: 11/01/2022

Madam, Will You Talk? The modern classic by the queen of romantic suspense
Madam, Will You Talk?
by Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense, Mary Stewart leads listeners on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-dre...

Narrator: Emilia Fox
Published: 11/01/2018

The Bluest Eye
The Bluest Eye
by Toni Morrison

The Bluest Eye, published in 1970, is the first novel written by Toni Morrison, winner of the 1993 Nobel Prize in Literature.It is the story of eleven-year-old Pecola Breedlove -- a black girl in an America whose love for its blond, blue-eyed childr...

Narrator: Toni Morrison
Published: 04/25/2000

Behind a Mask Classic Tales Edition
Behind a Mask
by Louisa May Alcott

In the years before Little Women, Louisa May Alcott anonymously wrote several thrillers in order to make ends meet. Dubbed as her “blood and thunder tales”, they reveal a bright, inventive and passionate writer driven to keep the reader ...

Narrator: B.J. Harrison
Published: 11/06/2020

The Sound and the Fury
The Sound and the Fury
by William Faulkner

The Sound and the Fury is the tragedy of the Compson family, featuring some of the most memorable characters in literature: beautiful, rebellious Caddy; the manchild Benjy; haunted, neurotic Quentin; Jason, the brutal cynic; and Dilsey, their black ...

Narrator: Grover Gardner
Published: 07/12/2005

The Enchanted April Classic Tales Edition
The Enchanted April
by Elizabeth von Arnim

To Those who Appreciate Wisteria and Sunshine. Small medieval Italian Castle on the shores of the Mediterranean to be Let Furnished for the month of April. This small advertisement sparks something long dormant in the reluctant hearts of two downca...

Narrator: B.J. Harrison
Published: 07/19/2016
{"id":"7860931","ean":"9781666628845","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Bridge of San Luis Rey","subtitle":"","author":"Thornton Wilder","rating_average":"4.1","narrator":"Edoardo Ballerini","ubr_id":"7860931","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"7.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"4.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Edoardo Ballerini","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 2 hr 59 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}