Lily's Crossing, Patricia Reilly Giff
  • $6.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Lily's Crossing

Author: Patricia Reilly Giff

Narrator: Mia Dillon

Unabridged: 3 hr 54 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/26/2008

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Historical - Military & Wars

Synopsis

This “brilliantly told” (New York Times) Newbery Honor Book gives readers a sense of what it was like to be on the American home front while our soldiers were away fighting in World War II.
 
As in past years, Lily will spend the summer in Rockaway, in her family’s summer house by the Atlantic Ocean. But this summer of 1944, World War II has changed everyone’s life. Lily’s best friend, Margaret, has moved to a wartime factory town, and, much worse, Lily’s father is going overseas to the war.
 
There’s no one Lily’s age in Rockaway until the arrival of Albert, a refugee from Hungary with a secret sewn into his coat. Albert has lost most of his family in the war; he’s been through things Lily can’t imagine. But soon they form a special friendship. Now Lily and Albert have secrets to share: They both have told lies, and Lily has told one that may cost Albert his life.




From the Trade Paperback edition.

Recommended

Duke
Duke
by Kirby Larson

A poignant World War II story about a boy and his dog and his dad, and the many meanings of bravery, from Newbery Honor author Kirby Larson. With World War II raging and his father fighting overseas in Europe, eleven-year-old Hobie Hanson is deter...

Narrator: Jonah Von Spreecken
Published: 05/01/2014

The Emperor of Any Place
The Emperor of Any Place
by Tim Wynne-Jones

The ghosts of war reverberate across the generations in a riveting, time-shifting story within a story from acclaimed thriller writer Tim Wynne-Jones.When Evan’s father dies suddenly, Evan finds a hand-bound yellow book on his desk—a boo...

Narrator: Todd Haberkorn
Published: 10/13/2015

Lifeboat 12
Lifeboat 12
by Susan Hood

In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella by Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy's harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis...

Narrator: Bruce Mann
Published: 06/25/2019

A Long Way From Chicago A Novel in Stories
A Long Way From Chicago
by Richard Peck

What happens when Joey and his sister, Mary Alice--two city slickers from Chicago--make their annual summer visits to Grandma Dowdel's seemingly sleepy Illinois town?August 1929: They see their first corpse, and he isn't resting easy.August 1930: Th...

Narrator: Ron McLarty
Published: 05/10/2005

Caminar
Caminar
by Skila Brown

Set in 1981 Guatemala, a lyrical debut novel tells the powerful tale of a boy who must decide what it means to be a man during a time of war.Carlos knows that when the soldiers arrive with warnings about the Communist rebels, it is time to be a man ...

Narrator: Christian Barillas
Published: 09/02/2014

Twenty and Ten
Twenty and Ten
by Claire Huchet Bishop

A powerful look at an unforgettable era in history“If we take these children, we can never betray them, no matter what the Nazis do.” During the German occupation of France, twenty French children were brought to a refuge in the mountain...

Narrator: Eve Bianco
Published: 02/20/2018

War Horse
War Horse
by Michael Morpurgo

In 1914, Joey, a beautiful bay-red foal with a distinctive cross on his nose, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front. With his officer, he charges toward the enemy, witnessing the horror of the battles in Franc...

Narrator: John Keating
Published: 09/01/2010

World at War, 1944
World at War, 1944
by Mary Pope Osborne

The first Magic Tree House® Super Edition—and Jack and Annie’s most dangerous mission ever in the scariest time the world has ever known—World War II. With a longer story and additional facts and photographs, this is a th...

Narrator: Mary Pope Osborne
Published: 05/02/2017

Bull Run
Bull Run
by Paul Fleischman

Winner of the Newbery Medal, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, and a Publishers Weekly Best book of 1993, Bull Run has become a modern classic of historical fiction for young adults. In this brilliant narrative, Fleischman re-creates the first grea...

Narrator: A Full Cast
Published: 10/07/2002
{"id":"326908","ean":"9781400085743","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Lily's Crossing","subtitle":"","author":"Patricia Reilly Giff","rating_average":"4.22","narrator":"Mia Dillon","ubr_id":"326908","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"10.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"6.50","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Mia Dillon","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 3 hr 54 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}