Advice to Youth, Mark Twain
  • $2.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Advice to Youth

Author: Mark Twain

Narrator: Larry G. Jones

Unabridged: 0 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Findaway Voices

Published: 05/19/2018

Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction

Synopsis

Mark Twain wrote this essay when asked to share something with America’s youth. Though he begins in a serious tone, his advice quickly takes a turn for the satirical: “Always obey your parents, when they are present. This is the best policy in the long run, because if you don’t, they will make you.” In a similar tone, he goes on to address the matters of respecting one’s elders, rising early, lying, handling firearms, and reading books. This funny essay is a great example of Twain’s infamous satirical wit and an easy entry point for anyone interested in the writer’s nonfiction.  

Recommended

Unfiltered No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me.
Unfiltered
by Lily Collins

International bestseller!In her groundbreaking debut essay collection, actress Lily Collins—Golden Globe-nominated star of Rules Don’t Apply, Mortal Instruments, and To the Bone—is opening a poignant, honest conversation...

Narrator: Lily Collins
Published: 03/07/2017

The Maddie Diaries A Memoir
The Maddie Diaries
by Maddie Ziegler

Teen dance prodigy, breakout Dance Moms star, and judge on So You Think You Can Dance: The Next Generation presents her uplifting coming-of-age memoir about following her dreams and working hard to achieve success in both the dance world and in life...

Narrator: Maddie Ziegler
Published: 03/07/2017

Almost Adulting All You Need to Know to Get It Together (Sort Of)
Almost Adulting
by Arden Rose

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose.In Almost Adulting—perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwav...

Narrator: Arden Rose
Published: 03/28/2017

THE CHARISMA BOOK: Improve Your Small Talk Skills with Charismatic Communication
THE CHARISMA BOOK: Improve Your Small Talk Skills with Charismatic Communication
by Francis L. Eckart

This book contains proven steps and strategies on how to become a truly charismatic person who can inspire positivity in others with a charm and personality like no other. The book will let you know about the elements of charisma and characteristics...

Narrator: dms
Published: 10/28/2020

Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution
by Bernie Sanders

In The Bernie Sanders Guide to Political Revolution, Independent congressman, presidential candidate and activist Bernie Sanders continues his fight against the imbalances in the nation’s status quo, and shows you how to make a difference to e...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 08/29/2017

Kian and Jc: Don't Try This at Home!
Kian and Jc: Don't Try This at Home!
by Kian Lawley

From personalities and entertainers Kian Lawley and Jc Caylen comes a completely wild and entirely true account of their rise to internet fame: Kian and Jc: Don’t Try This at Home! More than 7 million YouTube subscribers, 5 million Twitter fo...

Narrator: Jc Caylen
Published: 06/28/2016

Guts The True Stories Behind Hatchet and the Brian Books
Guts
by Gary Paulsen

Here are the real events that inspired Gary Paulsen to write Brian Robeson’s story in Hatchet, The River, Brian’s Winter, Brian’s Return, and Brian's Hunt: a stint as a volunteer emergency worker; the death that became the pilot...

Narrator: Patrick Lawlor
Published: 10/20/2012

Do Hard Things A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations
Do Hard Things
by Alex Harris

A generation stands on the brink of a "rebelution.""Most people don't expect you to understand what we're going to tell you in this book. And even if you understand, they don't expect you to care. And even if you care, they don't expect you to do an...

Narrator: Alex Harris
Published: 04/15/2008

How to Improve English Speaking How to Become a Confident and Fluent English Speaker
How to Improve English Speaking
by Marvin L.Wiese

How to Become a Confident and Fluent English Speaker!This book provides you with the key secrets you’ll need to unlock the next level of fluency and open an entirely new world of fluency. With this book by your side, you’ll discover that...

Narrator: Russell Newton
Published: 11/05/2019
{"id":"4003642","ean":"9781987101492","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Advice to Youth","subtitle":"","author":"Mark Twain","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Larry G. Jones","ubr_id":"4003642","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"3.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"2.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Larry G. Jones","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 0 hr 9 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}