Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald
  • $7.22
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality

Author: Hector Macdonald

Narrator: Robert Fass

Unabridged: 9 hr 34 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 03/06/2018

Genre: Business & Economics - Business Communication

Includes: Bonus PDF

Synopsis

"In a time when truth is under assault, Hector Macdonald is here to defend it. He offers clear-eyed, compelling guidelines for becoming a more accurate consumer and producer of information."--Adam Grant, author of Give and Take, Originals, and Option B with Sheryl SandbergFor fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.True or false? It's rarely that simple.There is more than one truth about most things. The Internet disseminates knowledge but it also spreads hatred. Eating meat is nutritious but it's also damaging to the environment. When we communicate we naturally select the truths that are most helpful to our agenda.We can select truths constructively to inspire organizations, encourage children, and drive progressive change. Or we can select truths that give a false impression of reality, misleading people without actually lying. Others can do the same, motivating or deceiving us with the truth. Truths are neutral but highly versatile tools that we can use for good or ill.In Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality, Hector Macdonald explores how truth is used and abused in politics, business, the media and everyday life. He shows how a clearer understanding of truth's many faces renders us better able to navigate our world and more influential within it. Combining great storytelling with practical takeaways and a litany of fascinating, funny, and insightful case studies, Truth is a sobering and engaging read about how profoundly our mindsets and actions are influenced by the truths that those around us choose to tell.

Recommended

Sell On The Phone: Proven techniques to close any sale on a cold call
Sell On The Phone: Proven techniques to close any sale on a cold call
by Robert William

If you want to grow your consulting business, this book is for you.Providing services is a great way to create a huge, steady income. But starting from zero can be very hard.Building a huge audience and a portfolio of high-paying clients requires yo...

Narrator: Joseph Holbrook
Published: 02/21/2020

Make Your Idea Matter Stand Out with a Better Story
Make Your Idea Matter
by Bernadette Jiwa

Make Your Idea Matter is a call to action for entrepreneurs, emerging brands and anyone with a great idea, who knows that to stand out in today's noisy world they need to tell a better story. It is full of bite-sized business and brand storytelling...

Narrator: Bernadette Jiwa
Published: 12/18/2012

Speak With No Fear
Speak With No Fear
by Mike Acker

Do you HATE public speaking? Are you TERRIFIED to stand in front of people? When you think of speaking, do you get nervous, anxious, even sweaty? You don’t have to be afraid any longer. It can seem like everyone is a gifted speak when you watc...

Narrator: Mike Acker
Published: 07/18/2019

Sit Your Way to Success From Sales Meetings to Dinner Parties, Where You Sit Matters
Sit Your Way to Success
by LeAnn Pashina

Without you knowing it, the seat you choose to sit in during a meeting or dinner party is influencing your results. The same is true for seating arrangements for a presentation or event. The seat you choose during a presentation will affec...

Narrator: LeAnn Pashina
Published: 06/30/2019

Instant Communication Skills
Instant Communication Skills
by The INSTANT-Series

How to Improve Communications Skills Instantly!Are you having trouble being heard or problem being misunderstood?Nowadays, it's more mandatory than ever to have good communication skill!Do you find it hard to talk to people, or when you do, you don'...

Narrator: The INSTANT-Series
Published: 07/18/2019

Communication: The Ultimate Guide to to Improving Your Listening, Speaking, and Dialogue Skills to Achieve Persuasion and Relationship Success
Communication: The Ultimate Guide to to Improving Your Listening, Speaking, and Dialogue Skills to Achieve Persuasion and Relationship Success
by Kate O. Thuy

Are your communication skills letting you down?Are they holding you back when it comes to persuading people to accept your point of view?Could improved communication be the key to a much better relationship for you?Communication is the key to much o...

Narrator: John Hays
Published: 11/26/2019

You've Got 8 Seconds Communication Secrets for a Distracted World
You've Got 8 Seconds
by Paul Hellman

Every day at work, people do three things: talk, listen, and pretend to listen. That’s not surprising when you consider that the average attention span has dropped to 8 seconds. To break through, says high-stakes communications expert Paul Hel...

Narrator: Paul Hellman
Published: 04/11/2017

The Art of Negotiation
The Art of Negotiation
by Gerard I. Nierenberg

From real estate to romance, politics to promotions, everything is negotiable.    Negotiation expert Gerard I. Nierenberg will teach you how to become a successful negotiator through a series of simple and proven techniques that ...

Narrator: Various
Published: 11/04/2008

How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide On Speed Reading People, Analysis Of Body Language, Personality Types And Human Psychology; Learn How To Understand Behaviour And Read Peoples Minds
How to Analyze People: The Ultimate Guide On Speed Reading People, Analysis Of Body Language, Personality Types And Human Psychology; Learn How To Understand Behaviour And Read Peoples Minds
by Adam Brown

Learning how to analyze people and their personalities can do wonders for your relationships. Whether it’s your coworker, your significant, your family, or even a complete stranger, you will always know exactly how to respond in the best possi...

Narrator: Nick Dolle
Published: 05/25/2018
{"id":"2065180","ean":"9781478992318","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Truth: How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality","subtitle":"How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality","author":"Hector Macdonald","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Robert Fass","ubr_id":"2065180","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert Fass","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 34 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}