The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America, Hannah Nordhaus
  • $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America

Author: Hannah Nordhaus

Narrator: Xe Sands

Unabridged: 7 hr 7 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 05/17/2016

Genre: Nature - Insects & Spiders

Synopsis

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honey bee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honey bees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the planet. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus's stunning expose illuminates one of the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

Recommended

Pride and Prejudice
by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice, a comedy of manners and marriage, is the most famous of Jane Austen's novels. In this dramatic adaption by Mary Keith Medbery Macakaye some liberties are taken with the storyline and characters, but it is still a fun listen or r...

Narrator: Group
Published: 07/26/2016

Come Sundown
by Nora Roberts

Come Sundown named as one of Whoopi Goldberg's "Favorite Summer Reads" on ABC's The View and one of NY Post's biggest blockbuster "Whizbang Books" of the summer.A novel of suspense, family ties, and twisted passions from the #1 New York Times bestse...

Narrator: Elisabeth Rodgers
Published: 05/30/2017

Pride and Prejudice (2012)
by Jane Austen

A full-cast stage adaptation of Jane Austens classic novel. The dour, Mr. Darcy is anything but popular with the Bennets, especially when he fancies a member of their clan. And as Elizabeth reluctantly deals with Mr. Darcys advances, their romance ...

Narrator: Diane Adair
Published: 04/15/2013

Lakes
by Warwick F. Vincent

In this Very Short Introduction, Warwick Vincent outlines the essential features of lake environments and their biology, offering an up-to-date view of lake ecosystems. Vincent traces the origins of lake science (limnology) from the seminal work of ...

Narrator: Stephen R. Thorne
Published: 12/18/2018

Canyons of the Colorado
by John Wesley Powell

John Wesley Powell was a pioneer American explorer, ethnologist, and geologist in the 19th Century. He set out to explore the Colorado and the Grand Canyon. He gathered nine men, four boats and food for ten months and set out from Green River, Wyomi...

Narrator: Group
Published: 08/10/2016

The Boiling River
by Andres Ruzo

In this exciting adventure mixed with amazing scientific study, a young, exuberant explorer and geoscientist journeys deep into the Amazon—where rivers boil and legends come to life. When Andrés Ruzo was just a small boy in Peru, his...

Narrator: Andres Ruzo
Published: 02/16/2016

Reptiles
by T.S. Kemp

For millions of years reptiles have walked, crawled, and slithered over the face of our Earth. From the mighty dinosaurs who dominated the land, the pterosaurs who took to the air, and the marine adapted ichthyosaurs, to the living reptiles today su...

Narrator: Jack de Golia
Published: 02/26/2019
{"id":"1984527","ean":"9781515976912","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Beekeeper's Lament: How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America","subtitle":"","author":"Hannah Nordhaus","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Xe Sands","ubr_id":"1984527","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"13.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"8.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Xe Sands","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 7 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}