The Afterlife, Gary Soto
  • $7.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Afterlife

Author: Gary Soto

Narrator: Robert Ramirez

Unabridged: 4 hr 13 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Recorded Books

Published: 05/09/2013

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Death & Dying

Synopsis

Adept at portraying Latino teenage culture, author Gary Soto has won many honors, including an ALA Best Book Award for his young adult novels. After an East Fresno student is murdered, his mind leaves his body. Now he must get used to being an invisible spirit-one who watches his friends and family deal with his death.

Recommended

Getting Near to Baby
Getting Near to Baby
by Audrey Couloumbis

Willa Joe is up on the roof at Aunt Patty's house. She went up to see the sunrise, and Little Sister followed her, like she always does. But by mid-morning, Willa Jo is still up on that roof, and she knows it wasn't just the sunrise that brought h...

Narrator: Mischa Barton
Published: 08/12/2008

The Invisible Leash A Story Celebrating Love After the Loss of a Pet
The Invisible Leash
by Patrice Karst

From the author of the modern classic and bestselling phenomenon The Invisible String comes a tender story about permanent loss that also celebrates the joy that animals give us in this life and beyond."When our pets aren't with us anymore, an Invi...

Narrator: Patrice Karst
Published: 12/03/2019

My Father's Words
My Father's Words
by Patricia MacLachlan

Patricia MacLachlan, beloved author of the Newbery Medal-winning Sarah, Plain and Tall, has crafted another lyrical and touching novel for young readers about finding hope after the loss of a loved one.Declan O’Brien always had a gentle word ...

Narrator: Imani Parks
Published: 10/02/2018

Missing May
Missing May
by Cynthia Rylant

Since summer was six years old she lived with dear Aunt May and Uncle Ob. Now, six years later, Aunt May has died. Summer, who misses May with all her might, is afraid something will happen to Ob. Most days Ob seems like he doesn't want to go on.But...

Narrator: Frances McDormand
Published: 04/08/2008

On My Honor
On My Honor
by Marion Dane Bauer

The sun beats down on 7th-graders Joel and his best friend as they pedal up and down the hills outside of town. Before leaving home, Joel had solemnly promised his father-on his honor-they would only go to the state park. He didn't explain they were...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 10/08/2001

The Seventh Most Important Thing
The Seventh Most Important Thing
by Shelley Pearsall

This “luminescent” (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff’s Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy.Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker...

Narrator: Nick Podehl
Published: 09/08/2015

The Rough Patch
The Rough Patch
by Brian Lies

A luminescent book about loss and grief, love and hope, and the healing power of friendship and nature, from New York Times–bestselling author Brian Lies.Readers of Cynthia Rylant’s classic Dog Heaven, the Fan Brothers’ ...

Narrator: Henry Leyva
Published: 08/14/2018

From You to Me
From You to Me
by K.A. Holt

Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes. And that's just fine by her. After losing her big sister, Clara, a few years ago, Amelia can't handle any more change. But when she starts eighth grade, she accidentally receives a letter t...

Narrator: Rachel L. Jacobs
Published: 06/30/2020

Eggs
Eggs
by Jerry Spinelli

EGGS is a quirky and moving audiobook about two very complicated, damaged children. David has recently lost his mother to a freak accident, his salesman father is constantly on the road, and he is letting his anger out on his grandmother. Primrose ...

Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Published: 06/01/2007
{"id":"1129516","ean":"9781440797743","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Afterlife","subtitle":"","author":"Gary Soto","rating_average":"4.67","narrator":"Robert Ramirez","ubr_id":"1129516","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"12.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"7.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert Ramirez","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 13 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}