Schifflebein's Folly: A Funny Way to Build a Family, Iris Chacon
  • $4.74
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share


Schifflebein's Folly: A Funny Way to Build a Family

Author: Iris Chacon

Narrator: Jenny Hoops

Unabridged: 4 hr 11 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Findaway Voices

Published: 02/28/2022

Genre: Fiction - Magic Realism


A hunky carpenter plans to adopt six kids -- IF he can convince authorities that he isn't crazy. He isn't. His teapot really IS talking to him! This is a funny way to build a family.

Lloyd has reached the age of 32 years, seven months, four days, and six hours without finding Miss Right and converting her into Mrs. Lloyd Schifflebein. Yes, Schifflebein. A name that is unromantic, unspellable, and way too long for signing checks and the backs of credit cards.


Even if Miss Right appears, there is another impediment to wedded bliss: Lloyd obsesses over his six children. He doesn’t have them yet, but he is working on it. He has been filing adoption applications all his adult life. This leads many people to deduce that Lloyd Schifflebein is crazy. Big and strong, sure. Cute, maybe, but loony nonetheless.


Somehow Lloyd finally convinces the Social Worker From Hell that he really is good father-material. Soon the Schifflebein household is a circus, with six special kids and their six neurotic pet bunnies. To become a forever family, however, they must pass a probationary period with surprise inspections at any time.


Then things begin to go wrong:


The Teapot arrives. The one that is certain to get Lloyd get officially labeled “insane,” removing any chance of successful adoptions.


Miss Right appears, but she is engaged to someone else.


Lloyd’s enemies attack him with false accusations and numerous lawsuits.


The government takes away Lloyd’s children, pending his day in court. 


In his fight to keep his children, his livelihood, and his beloved bride, Lloyd definitely needs supernatural help – even if it comes in the form of a snarky, talking Teapot.



The Secrets of Ghosts
The Secrets of Ghosts
by Sarah Painter

Step back into the magical world of Pendleford with The Secrets of Ghosts. Don’t miss the magical, heart-warming story from the bestselling author of The Language of Spells!On her twenty-first birthday Katie Harper has only one wish: to b...

Narrator: Tracey Norman
Published: 08/12/2020

The Time That's Given
The Time That's Given
by David Litwack

When Burt is surprised by a magical guide, and says he wants to become a hero in a fantasy realm, he discovers a more complex world than he’d expected.Kirkus Reviews calls it: “A keen and delightful multi-genre tale about a hero grapplin...

Narrator: Jon Noto
Published: 07/02/2021

The Magic of Kindness A Novel in Short Stories
The Magic of Kindness
by Brian Allan Skinner

The Magic of Kindness is magic realism with a dash of erotic spiciness. Like the author’s previous collection of tales, it is a “novel in short stories.” The eight quirky tales in the present volume are connected not only by plot e...

Narrator: Brian Allan Skinner
Published: 05/24/2019

Weird Santa & other Xmas Tales
Weird Santa
by Brian Allan Skinner

Weird Santa & other Xmas Tales is magic realism with a dash of erotic spiciness. The ten independent stories in this collection range from “A Doggie’s Tale,” a boy-and-his-dog story appropriate for children, to “Never Too Old...

Narrator: Brian Allan Skinner
Published: 02/15/2021

Shoot Me, Jesus Tales of the Old & New Southwest
Shoot Me, Jesus
by Brian Allan Skinner

Shoot Me, Jesus is a “novel in short stories,” what writer Jane Lawless called “erotic magic realism with a Southwestern spiciness.” Humor is an essential element of each story. The eleven linked tales move forward and backwa...

Narrator: Brian Allan Skinner
Published: 07/07/2018

Our Lady of Roswell A Novel
Our Lady of Roswell
by Brian Allan Skinner

Our Lady of Roswell: A Novel In the final years of World War II, the Blessed Virgin Mary appears to Roswell, New Mexico, teenagers Antonio and Sixtus. She entrusts them to deliver a letter to a scientist working on the Manhattan Project at Los Alamo...

Narrator: Brian Allan Skinner
Published: 02/15/2021

Pinball, 1973
Pinball, 1973
by Haruki Murakami

Published in 1980 by Japanese author Haruki Murakami, Pnball, 1973 is the second book in the "Trilogy of the Rat" series. It is preceded by Hear the Wind Sing (1979) and followed by A Wild Sheep Chase (1982), and is the second novel written by ...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Hear the Wind Sing
Hear the Wind Sing
by Haruki Murakami

Hear the Wind Sing is the first novel by Haruki Murakami. First published in the June 1979 issue of Gunzo, one of the most influential literary magazines in Japan, it was published one month later as a book. Hear the Wind Sing is the first book in t...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Dahlia The Velvet Witch and Her Dark Spirit
by David Minutillo

Making a pact with the underworld isn’t a problem … … but change the deal and hell breaks loose. Dahlia’s world was turned upside down as a child and her innocence taken. But she chose to fight back with her own blend of m...

Narrator: Damjan Stefanovic
Published: 03/02/2021
{"id":"6087234","ean":"9781669621829","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Schifflebein's Folly: A Funny Way to Build a Family","subtitle":"A Funny Way to Build a Family","author":"Iris Chacon","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jenny Hoops","ubr_id":"6087234","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"7.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"4.50","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jenny Hoops","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 11 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}