Say Something: A Hate List Novella, Jennifer Brown
  • $3.58
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Say Something: A Hate List Novella

Author: Jennifer Brown

Narrator: Ivan Martinovic

Unabridged: 2 hr 23 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 01/07/2014

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Social Issues - Bullying

Synopsis

In Hate List, Jennifer Brown delivered a powerful story about grief, friendship, and forgiveness in the aftermath of a school shooting. Now, she explores an evocative new narrative while digging deeper into the themes first touched upon in her debut novel.David Judy knows what it's like to be bullied. Shy and gentle, with a soft voice and "a girl's name for a last name," he is a prime target. Thankfully, there's one girl David feels at ease with -- Valerie, the girl who's been dating his neighbor and sometimes-friend, Nick. Valerie is kind to David and pulls him into their circle of outcast friends, where he finally feels like he (sort of) belongs. So when David starts to suspect that Nick and his friend Jeremy are planning a revenge plot against their tormentors, he wrestles with whether or not to tell someone. By the time he finally works up the courage to say something...it's too late.David tries to put what he knows behind him -- to forget and move on -- but that's hard to do as senior year starts and he watches his old friend, Valerie, struggle in a deep, dark place of guilt and confusion. It's time to speak up. David may not be able to end bullying, but by standing up, he might just make a difference. And that's what matters.

Recommended

Garvey's Choice
Garvey's Choice
by Nikki Grimes

Garvey's father has always wanted Garvey to be athletic, but Garvey is interested in astronomy, science fiction, reading-anything but sports. Feeling like a failure, he comforts himself with food. Garvey is kind, funny, smart, a loyal friend, and he...

Narrator: James Shippy
Published: 10/04/2016

The Icarus Show
The Icarus Show
by Sally Christie

Wonder if it were written by David Almond. A powerful, deeply insightful middle grade novel that poignantly deals with themes of friendship, bullying, and loneliness. Alex has worked out a foolproof plan to avoid being picked on. Don't React. It's...

Narrator: Joe Jameson
Published: 01/03/2017

King of the Bench: Control Freak
King of the Bench: Control Freak
by Steve Moore

In the second book of this new, highly illustrated middle grade series by the nationally syndicated cartoonist of “In the Bleachers,” Steve reprises his role as perpetual bench-warmer. Perfect for fans of Timmy Failure and Diary of a Wi...

Narrator: Maxwell Glick
Published: 09/12/2017

Ellray Jakes Walks The Plank!
Ellray Jakes Walks The Plank!
by Sally Warner

Things are going just swimmingly for EllRay. He's finally getting along with most of the kids at school. He's even getting along with his family. But then everything comes screeching to a halt when his younger sister accidently overfeeds the classro...

Narrator: Corey Allen
Published: 06/20/2014

Bystander
Bystander
by James Preller

Eric is the new kid in seventh grade. Griffin wants to be his friend. When you're new in town, it's hard to know who to hang out with—and who to avoid. Griffin seems cool, confident, and popular.     But something isn't rig...

Narrator: James Fouhey
Published: 10/29/2019

Blubber
Blubber
by Judy Blume

Blubber is a good name for her, the note from Wendy says about Linda. Jill crumples it up and leaves it on the corner of her desk. She doesn't want to think about Linda or her dumb report on the whale just now. Jill wants to think about Halloween.Bu...

Narrator: Halley Feiffer
Published: 05/22/2007

Posted
Posted
by John David Anderson

From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, comes a humorous, poignant, and original contemporary story about bullying, broken friendships, and the failures of communication between kids.In middle school, words are...

Narrator: Patrick Lawlor
Published: 05/02/2017

The Girl in the Well Is Me
The Girl in the Well Is Me
by Karen Rivers

Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a popular club; now trapped in the dark, waiting to be rescued, Kammie thinks about the best and worst moments of her life so far in this unforgettable story about a bullied girl.

Narrator: Michele O. Medlin
Published: 03/15/2016

Arnie and the New Kid
Arnie and the New Kid
by Nancy Carlson

Able-bodied Arnie teases Philip—a new student at his school who uses a wheelchair. However, after Arnie injures himself while making fun of Philip, he begins to understand what it means to be compassionate and welcoming.

Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Published: 05/29/2018
{"id":"424439","ean":"9781478925347","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Say Something: A Hate List Novella","subtitle":"A Hate List Novella","author":"Jennifer Brown","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Ivan Martinovic","ubr_id":"424439","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"4.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"3.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Ivan Martinovic","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 2 hr 23 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}