Sarah, Plain and Tall, Patricia MacLachlan
  • $5.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Sarah, Plain and Tall

Author: Patricia MacLachlan

Series: Sarah, Plain and Tall #1

Narrator: Glenn Close

Unabridged: 1 hr 1 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 11/18/2008

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Classics

Synopsis

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Recommended

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
by Barbara Robinson

The six Herdman children are “absolutely the worst kids in the history of the world.” They lie and steal and smoke cigars. They even burned down Fred Shoemaker’s old toolhouse. Now they’re taking over the Christmas pageant. T...

Narrator: C. J. Critt
Published: 12/15/1997

Green Eggs and Ham
Green Eggs and Ham
by Dr. Seuss

Sam-I-Am mounts a determined campaign to convince another Seuss character to eat a plate of green eggs and ham.

Narrator: Jason Alexander
Published: 06/27/2006

The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
by Barbara Robinson

Laughs abound in this bestselling Christmas classic by Barbara Robinson! The Best Christmas Pageant Ever follows the outrageous shenanigans of the Herdman siblings, or “the worst kids in the history of the world.” The siblings take over...

Narrator: Elaine Stritch
Published: 07/26/2005

Dear Mr. Henshaw
Dear Mr. Henshaw
by Beverly Cleary

Dear Mr. Henshaw,I wish somebody would stop stealing the good stuff out of my lunchbag. I guess I wish a lot of other things, too. I wish someday Dad and Bandit would pull up in front in the rig ... Dad would yell out of the cab, "Come on, Leigh. H...

Narrator: Pedro Pascal
Published: 04/28/2009

Treasure Island
Treasure Island
by Robert Louis Stevenson

Treasure Island must be the most enthralling adventure book ever written for children. As we listen to the voice of Jim Hawkins telling his extraordinary tale, and later that of his companion Dr Livesey, we are plunged into a world of pirates, burie...

Narrator: Jasper Britton
Published: 10/01/2005

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
by Mark Twain

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer is the story of a boy’s adventures growing up in a small town on the banks of the Mississippi river over a hundred years ago. The cheerful, adventurous hero plays truant to form a pirate band and, together with his...

Narrator: Garrick Hagon
Published: 08/01/2004

A Bear Called Paddington
A Bear Called Paddington
by Michael Bond

Paddington Bear had traveled all the way from Darkest Peru when the Brown family first met him on Paddington Station. Since then their lives have never been quite the same ... for ordinary things become quite extraordinary when a bear called Paddin...

Narrator: Stephen Fry
Published: 03/29/2005

Anne of Green Gables
Anne of Green Gables
by L. M. Montgomery

Listen to the timeless classic about the beloved Anne Shirley, a red-haired orphan with a fiery spirit, before the new NETFLIX series premieres. This audiobook includes a foreword by Margaret Atwood, author of The Handmaid’s Tale, celebra...

Narrator: Kate Burton
Published: 06/10/2008

Voyage of the Dawn Treader
Voyage of the Dawn Treader
by C. S. Lewis

Narnia ... where anything can happen (and most often does) ... and where the adventure begins.The Dawn Treader is the first ship Narnia has seen in centuries. King Caspian has built it for his first voyage to find the seven lords, good men whom his...

Narrator: Derek Jacobi
Published: 05/24/2005
{"id":"172168","ean":"9780061802157","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Sarah, Plain and Tall","subtitle":"","author":"Patricia MacLachlan","rating_average":"4.14","narrator":"Glenn Close","ubr_id":"172168","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"8.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"5.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Glenn Close","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 1 hr 1 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}