Lifeboat 12, Susan Hood
  • $7.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Lifeboat 12

Author: Susan Hood

Narrator: Bruce Mann

Unabridged: 3 hr 24 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 06/25/2019

Genre: Children & Young Adults Fiction - Historical - Military & Wars

Synopsis

In the tradition of The War That Saved My Life and Stella by Starlight, this poignant novel in verse based on true events tells the story of a boy's harrowing experience on a lifeboat after surviving a torpedo attack during World War II. With Nazis bombing London every night, it's time for thirteen-year-old Ken to escape. He suspects his stepmother is glad to see him go, but his dad says he's one of the lucky ones—one of ninety boys and girls to ship out aboard the SS City of Benares to safety in Canada. Life aboard the luxury ship is grand—nine-course meals, new friends, and a life far from the bombs, rations, and his stepmum's glare. And after five days at sea, the ship's officers announce that they're out of danger. They're wrong. Late that night, an explosion hurls Ken from his bunk. They've been hit. Torpedoed! The Benares is sinking fast. Terrified, Ken scrambles aboard Lifeboat 12 with five other boys. Will they get away? Will they survive? Award-winning author Susan Hood brings this little-known World War II story to life in a riveting novel of courage, hope, and compassion.

Recommended

Twenty and Ten
Twenty and Ten
by Claire Huchet Bishop

A powerful look at an unforgettable era in history“If we take these children, we can never betray them, no matter what the Nazis do.” During the German occupation of France, twenty French children were brought to a refuge in the mountain...

Narrator: Eve Bianco
Published: 02/20/2018

War Horse
War Horse
by Michael Morpurgo

In 1914, Joey, a beautiful bay-red foal with a distinctive cross on his nose, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front. With his officer, he charges toward the enemy, witnessing the horror of the battles in Franc...

Narrator: John Keating
Published: 09/01/2010

World at War, 1944
World at War, 1944
by Mary Pope Osborne

The first Magic Tree House® Super Edition—and Jack and Annie’s most dangerous mission ever in the scariest time the world has ever known—World War II. With a longer story and additional facts and photographs, this is a th...

Narrator: Mary Pope Osborne
Published: 05/02/2017

Duke
Duke
by Kirby Larson

A poignant World War II story about a boy and his dog and his dad, and the many meanings of bravery, from Newbery Honor author Kirby Larson. With World War II raging and his father fighting overseas in Europe, eleven-year-old Hobie Hanson is deter...

Narrator: Jonah Von Spreecken
Published: 05/01/2014

Bull Run
Bull Run
by Paul Fleischman

Winner of the Newbery Medal, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, and a Publishers Weekly Best book of 1993, Bull Run has become a modern classic of historical fiction for young adults. In this brilliant narrative, Fleischman re-creates the first grea...

Narrator: A Full Cast
Published: 10/07/2002

Caminar
Caminar
by Skila Brown

Set in 1981 Guatemala, a lyrical debut novel tells the powerful tale of a boy who must decide what it means to be a man during a time of war.Carlos knows that when the soldiers arrive with warnings about the Communist rebels, it is time to be a man ...

Narrator: Christian Barillas
Published: 09/02/2014

Lily's Crossing
Lily's Crossing
by Patricia Reilly Giff

This “brilliantly told” (New York Times) Newbery Honor Book gives readers a sense of what it was like to be on the American home front while our soldiers were away fighting in World War II.   As in past years, Lily will spend the su...

Narrator: Mia Dillon
Published: 08/26/2008

Great Escapes #1: Nazi Prison Camp Escape
Great Escapes #1: Nazi Prison Camp Escape
by Michael Burgan

Are you ready for some of the most exciting, death-defying escape stories ever told? Perfect for fans of the I Survived series, the first installment in a brand-new, edge-of-your-seat series based on real events!In spring 1942, Royal Air Force pilot...

Narrator: Josh Horowitz
Published: 04/28/2020

The Emperor of Any Place
The Emperor of Any Place
by Tim Wynne-Jones

The ghosts of war reverberate across the generations in a riveting, time-shifting story within a story from acclaimed thriller writer Tim Wynne-Jones.When Evan’s father dies suddenly, Evan finds a hand-bound yellow book on his desk—a boo...

Narrator: Todd Haberkorn
Published: 10/13/2015
{"id":"3199359","ean":"9781977368928","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Lifeboat 12","subtitle":"","author":"Susan Hood","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Bruce Mann","ubr_id":"3199359","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"12.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"7.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Bruce Mann","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 3 hr 24 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}