Kit's Wilderness, David Almond
  • $7.56
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Kit's Wilderness

Author: David Almond

Narrator: Charles Keating

Unabridged: 5 hr 10 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 03/07/2000

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Family

Synopsis

The Printz Award–winning classic gets a new look.

Written in haunting, lyrical prose, Kit’s Wilderness examines the bonds of family from one generation to the next, and explores how meaning and beauty can be revealed from the depths of darkness.

The Watson family moves to Stoneygate, an old coal-mining town, to care for Kit’s recently widowed grandfather. When Kit meets John Askew, another boy whose family has both worked and died in the mines, Askew invites Kit to join him in playing a game called Death. As Kit’s grandfather tells him stories of the mine’s past and the history of the Watson family, Askew takes Kit into the mines, where the boys look to find the childhood ghosts of their long-gone ancestors.

A Michael L. Printz Award Winner
An ALA Notable Book
A Publishers Weekly Best Book


From the Paperback edition.

Recommended

Long Way Down
by Jason Reynolds

A YALSA 2018 Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults Selection A Newbery Honor Book A Coretta Scott King Honor Book A Printz Honor Book A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner for Young Adult Literature Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young Peo...

Narrator: Jason Reynolds
Published: 10/24/2017

Hello Now
by Jenny Valentine

From Carnegie Medal finalist Jenny Valentine comes a bold new story about the boundlessness of love and second chances, perfect for fans of David Levithan's Every Day. Jude doesn't believe in love, or magic. Life is little more than ordinary. That ...

Narrator: Lizzy Waterworth-Santo
Published: 03/31/2020

Bird
by Angela Johnson

Bird, a 13-year-old girl with a mission, has run away in pursuit of her stepfather. She's sure she'll be able to convince him to return home—to fill the hole he left in their family. And while she hides near his sister's farmhouse, she becomes...

Narrator: Chantale Hosein
Published: 09/28/2004

Miracle's Boys
by Jacqueline Woodson

Nothing is like it used to be. If it were, Mama would still be alive. Papa wouldn’t have died. And Charlie would still be the same old loving big brother to 13-year-old Lafayette, not a hostile stranger, just back from doing time at a correcti...

Narrator: DulA© Hill
Published: 08/24/2010

Come Sundown
by Nora Roberts

Come Sundown named as one of Whoopi Goldberg's "Favorite Summer Reads" on ABC's The View and one of NY Post's biggest blockbuster "Whizbang Books" of the summer.A novel of suspense, family ties, and twisted passions from the #1 New York Times bestse...

Narrator: Elisabeth Rodgers
Published: 05/30/2017

A Monster Calls
by Patrick Ness

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatmen...

Narrator: Jason Isaacs
Published: 09/27/2011

Rebuttal
by Jyotsna Hariharan

The Grand Prize winner of HarperCollins's audio drama contest. "By turns amusing and angst-filled, this well-paced production is a good choice for fans of full-cast audios" (AudioFile).All Alex Dassan needs to do is win second place in the debate t...

Narrator: Dan Bittner
Published: 11/15/2016

The Tightrope Walkers
by David Almond

International award-winner David Almond draws on memories of his early years in Tyneside, England, for a moving coming-of-age novel, masterfully told.A gentle visionary coming of age in the shadow of the shipyards of northern England, Dominic Hall i...

Narrator: Richard Halverson
Published: 03/24/2015

Silence Is Goldfish
by Annabel Pitcher

My name is Tess Turner--at least, that's what I've always been told.I have a voice but it isn't mine. It used to say things so I'd fit in, to please my parents, to please my teachers. It used to tell the universe I was something I wasn't. It lied.I...

Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Published: 05/17/2016
{"id":"319242","ean":"9780553750027","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Kit's Wilderness","subtitle":"","author":"David Almond","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Charles Keating","ubr_id":"319242","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"10.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"7.12","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Charles Keating","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}