For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind, Rosemary Mahoney
  • $7.22
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind

Author: Rosemary Mahoney

Narrator: Rosemary Mahoney

Unabridged: 9 hr 27 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 01/14/2014

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Cultural Heritage

Synopsis

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Recommended

Andrew Zimmern's Pleasant Surprises Chapter 17 from THE BIZARRE TRUTH
Andrew Zimmern's Pleasant Surprises
by Andrew Zimmern

Andrew Zimmern, the host of The Travel Channel’s hit series Bizarre Foods, has an extraordinarily well-earned reputation for traveling far and wide to seek out and sample anything and everything that’s consumed as food globally, from cow...

Narrator: Andrew Zimmern
Published: 09/08/2009

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
by Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou’s debut memoir is a modern American classic beloved worldwide. Her life story is told in the documentary film And Still I Rise, as seen on PBS’s American Masters.Here is a book as joyous and painful, as mysterious and memora...

Narrator: Maya Angelou
Published: 11/29/2005

Otis and the Tornado
Otis and the Tornado
by Loren Long

A recipient of two Golden Kite Awards for excellence in children's literature, Loren Long is the New York Times best-selling author and illustrator of the delightful Otis series. Otis the faithful farm tractor is frolicking in the meadow with his an...

Narrator: Chris Sorensen
Published: 10/04/2011

Believing
Believing
by Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown revisits two pivotal Christmases from her own past in this heartfelt and intimate essay. One needn't be familiar with Brown's previous works to be deeply moved by this personal reflection on the meaning of family, faith, celebration, ...

Narrator: Sandra Brown
Published: 11/21/2017

The Narrative of Sojourner Truth A Biography of a Slave Woman
The Narrative of Sojourner Truth
by Olive Gilbert

The Narrative of Sojourner Truth is a poignant biography as told to Olive Gilbert by Isabella Bomefree-a slave born at the end of the eighteenth century who later took the name of Sojourner Truth. She recounts the harshness of life under slavery, as...

Narrator: Bobbie Frohman
Published: 02/20/2014

Andrew Zimmern visits China and Andrew Zimmern, Nature's Candy (Foreign Fruits) Chapters 12 and 16 from THE BIZARRE TRUTH
Andrew Zimmern visits China and Andrew Zimmern, Nature's Candy (Foreign Fruits)
by Andrew Zimmern

Andrew Zimmern, the host of The Travel Channel’s hit series Bizarre Foods, has an extraordinarily well-earned reputation for traveling far and wide to seek out and sample anything and everything that’s consumed as food globally, from cow...

Narrator: Andrew Zimmern
Published: 09/08/2009

Dallas 1963 Patriots, Traitors, and the Assassination of JFK
Dallas 1963
by Bill Minutaglio

Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Research NonfictionNamed one of the Top 3 JFK Books by Parade Magazine. Named 1 of The 5 Essential Kennedy assassination books ever written by The Daily Beast. Named one of the Top Nonfiction Books of...

Narrator: Authors
Published: 10/08/2013

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
by Frederick Douglass

Uncertain of his date of birth or the identity of his father, Frederick Douglass came into the world with one surety: he was born a slave, and would die a slave. But as he grew up, Douglass determined that he would teach himself to read and write, a...

Narrator: Charles Turner
Published: 11/20/2003

Andrew Zimmern visits Singapore Chapter 11 from THE BIZARRE TRUTH
Andrew Zimmern visits Singapore
by Andrew Zimmern

Andrew Zimmern, the host of The Travel Channel’s hit series Bizarre Foods, has an extraordinarily well-earned reputation for traveling far and wide to seek out and sample anything and everything that’s consumed as food globally, from cow...

Narrator: Andrew Zimmern
Published: 09/08/2009
{"id":"384354","ean":"9781478925279","abr":"Unabridged","title":"For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind","subtitle":"Dispatches from the World of the Blind","author":"Rosemary Mahoney","rating_average":"3.71","narrator":"Rosemary Mahoney","ubr_id":"384354","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rosemary Mahoney","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 27 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}